

United States Department of Energy

The Secretary of Energy Achievement Award

Presented to the

National Virtual Biotechnology Laboratory Team

In recognition of the accomplishments of the National Virtual Biotechnology Laboratory (NVBL) Team, which harnessed and mobilized the formidable scientific facility and research capabilities of the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) National Laboratories to meet the challenges posed by the COVID-19 pandemic. Under the leadership of the NVBL Executive Leadership Team—comprised of both senior DOE and laboratory officials—DOE's 17 National Laboratories achieved an unprecedented level of coordination, operating as a unified entity, with a single "front door" for facility access and research. This ensured projects were efficiently selected, optimally prioritized, and systematically reviewed for quality, and the full capabilities of the National Laboratory complex were brought to bear on the crisis. As a result of the establishment of the NVBL, Congress provided nearly \$100 million in support under the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security Act to the Department's Office of Science and the National Nuclear Security Administration. Harnessing the National Laboratories' world-leading supercomputers, x-ray light and neutron sources, nanoscience research centers, and advanced genomics and biology facilities, NVBL enabled major advances in characterizing COVID-19 to aid in drug and vaccine development, screening of candidate drugs, expanding epidemiological understanding of disease spread, facilitating the manufacture of vitally needed personal protective and other equipment, and rating and improving testing methods, among many other advancements.

For their contributions to the Department of Energy and the Nation, the National Virtual Biotechnology Laboratory Team is awarded the Secretary of Energy's Achievement Award.

Members:

Rebecca J. Abergel Paul D. Adams Adam P. Arkin Ilke Arslan Budhendra L. Bhaduri Charles T. Black Jim Brase Adam Bratis Steve Brice Michelle V. Buchanan Supriya Chinthavali Michael Dunne Michael Fazio J. Patrick Fitch Lorie Fox Randall Gentry

Martha (Marti) S. Head Barbara J. Helland John P. Hill Linda L. Horton Srinivas Iyer Ralph James Andrzej Joachimiak Stephen D. Kevan Jack Kotovsky Harriet Kung Paul Langan Thomas Lograsso Lonnie J. Love Charles M. Macal Douglas Mans Paul C. McIntyre

Benjamin H. McMahon Jonathan Menard Karren L. More Nigel J. Mouncey Jeffrey Neaton Jeffrey S. Nelson Sarah K. Nelson Robert C. O'Brien Ashley P. Predith David G. Prendergast Dave Rakestraw Mark (Danny) Rintoul Adam J. Rondinone Katie J. Runkles Joseph S. Schoeniger Blake A. Simmons

Anup K. Singh
Chris M. Spadaccini
Rick L. Stevens
Paul N. Stewart
Stephen K. Streiffer
Kerstin Kleese van Dam
Soichi Wakatsuki
Marianne C. Walck
Geoffrey S. Waldo
Katrina Waters
Sharlene Weatherwax
Bobbie-Joe J. Webb-Robertson
Drew Weisenberger

Dan Brouillette Secretary

January 2021